Completed in 1916, the original structure was the home of Jackson's First Cumberland Presbyterian Church and replaced an earlier nineteenth century church of the same denomination. The facility was enlarged in 1966 under the supervision of architect Haywood Smith. In 1998 the building was abandoned to the elements, but after a construction process begun in 2003, it has been restored and updated for modern use. The two-story rear of the building is home to Aeneas Internet & Telephone, while the original church sanctuary and basement are used for public events.
The restoration process kept intact the historic architecture and design of the building, while adding modern conveniences like catering amenities and developing the lovely outdoor courtyard, garden and balcony. The large 2900 sq ft space and eye-catching mix of classic grace and up to date modernity make The Aeneas Building a unique space for any public event.
Interested in the history of the building? View articles and pictures we've gathered about the historic First Presbyterian Church in our online archive.
Viewings and tours of the building are by appointment only.